Welcome to Sunflower RC&D

The Sunflower Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Area, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization comprised of a network of community volunteer leaders from Barber, Comanche, Cowley, Harper, Kingman, Kiowa, Pratt and Sumner  counties in south central Kansas.

The Sunflower RC&D Area is governed by a 40-member council comprised of representatives from the three sponsoring organizations (county commissions, conservation districts, and extension councils) as well as two members-at-large from each of the eight (8) counties.

The RC&D Council assists local people by helping provide the opportunity to work together for planning and implementation of projects which solve problems, and improve the areas of economy, environment and standard of living.

Sunflower RC&D Area, Inc., a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization, often serves as a conduit for tax-deductible donations given to local and area approved projects.  

Our Mission
To serve as a grassroots team, coordinating efforts which conserve and develop our natural, economic and human resources, while improving quality of life for the eight county area.

What is RC&D?  

The Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) program was authorized by Public Law 97-98 in 1962 and is administered by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).  The program was given permanent authorization with the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002 (The Farm Bill).   Although the Program was defunded with the April 15, 2011 budget bill, many of the over 300 RC&D Councils remain to serve their residents and communities in their coverage areas. 

The purpose of the RC&D Program is to encourage and improve the capability of volunteer, locally elected and civic leaders in designated RC&D areas to plan and carry out projects for resource conservation and community development.  RC&D priorities are set by area residents to meet their needs.

Authorized by the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture in September, 1968, Sunflower RC&D was the first RC&D Council in the State of Kansas.   Others organized in the following order: SeeKan, Flint Hills, Lake Region, Glacial Hills, Western Prairie, Central Prairie, Santa Fe Trail and Solomon Valley. Over the past several years additional RC&Ds have been organized in the State, but not authorized, those being Coronado Crossing, Smoky Hills and Kansas Crossroads. This brings the total to 12 RC&D areas that serve 93 counties in the State of Kansas.  (See Map)